Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello guys. I decided I'm going to migrate to Linux. I've done my research and came to the conclusion that Linux, no matter what distro we talk about, will never ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Taking the big step - Migrating to Linux

Hello guys. I decided I'm going to migrate to Linux. I've done my research and came to the conclusion that Linux, no matter what distro we talk about, will never be just 'ready to use'. But that's totally fine with me 'cause even though I'm not a pro with computers, I do like to learn about it an get my hands dirty, so I'm prepared to the challenge.

But having been a Window user my whole life, I need to start from scratch, so in this post I ask for your help in choosing a distro for me.

I have some in mind: Mint, Mageia and openSuse and Fedora.

I want you to take as guides for your advice the following:

1. Although my laptop is pretty new (not one year old yet), and has very good resources (3 gb ram, 300 gb storage, etc) I don't want to abuse with the heaviest tools, the fancier desktop interface, etc, because I want my machine to run fast.

2. I don't fear using the terminal emulator.

3. I want a stable and well-supported distro.

4. I want to have a wide selection of software to choose from.

5. I want something that helps me and challenges me to improve my knowledge on the OS and eventually reach the ability to use more advanced distros.

6. I want something that, at the end, helps me doing my daily tasks (I'm not a programmer nor work 20 hours per day on the computer; I just use it to write in Latex, browse the web and not many thing more.)

Thank you for your help!

Just Joined!
    Yeah, I know: I hadn't read the FAQ of the 'Newbie' section. Well I have now and it answered my question the way I expected.

Apologies for wasting your time.