Find the answer to your Linux question:
Dear Experts, I am an Oracle DBA and we got a Linux cluster setup in Active/Passive mode. I have defined a resource script which is to start the Database and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Fail over in Linux cluster - Active/Passive

Dear Experts,

I am an Oracle DBA and we got a Linux cluster setup in Active/Passive mode. I have defined a resource script which is to start the Database and listener service during failover. The script is getting run every minute and trying to start the database again and again even though the database has been started already. Is this a general behavior of the Linux cluster? What do I need to perform so that my script is invoked only once? Any assistance will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance!
    Khan.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by khan_dba View Post
    Dear Experts,

I am an Oracle DBA and we got a Linux cluster setup in Active/Passive mode. I have defined a resource script which is to start the Database and listener service during failover. The script is getting run every minute and trying to start the database again and again even though the database has been started already. Is this a general behavior of the Linux cluster? What do I need to perform so that my script is invoked only once? Any assistance will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance!
    Khan.
    I would also like to add that, the defined cluster service itself is being invoked every few seconds. I felt service should be invoked only during fail over.

In the below status, it’s good to see that once node 1 is brought down the cluster service is shifted to node 2. Well and good here!

Cluster Status for rhel-cluster @ Sun Dec 9 07:54:46 2012
    Member Status: Quorate

Member Name ID Status
    ------ ---- ---- ------
    oeltest1.arowana.com 1 Offline
    oeltest2.arowana.com 2 Online, Local, rgmanager

Service Name Owner (Last) State