Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi Experts, I am new in linux....I am eager to know about Linux functionality Everyone says that Linux is Multi User Operating system. How ? I heard that linux can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How linux is Multi-user OS ?

Hi Experts,

I am new in linux....I am eager to know about Linux functionality
    Everyone says that Linux is Multi User Operating system. How ?

I heard that linux can login only 7 or 12 Maximum user at
    same time. it depend on Clrl + Alt + F1 to 12 ??
    Am i right ?

Somebody says linux can handles 65.000 users for 2.4 kernels, and 4 billion for 2.6 kernels... i am very confuse in this Topic so
    please help me ?

Just Joined!
    Hi,
    Firstly let me say I'm not an expert in the sense of "linux guru" but I have been fiddling around with this O/S for around 20 years. For the past 10 years or so I have only used other O/Ss when I don't have a choice.

In the dark ages (pre 1995) the fact that linux was multi-user simply meant you could specify more than one login and they would not interfere with another. It didn't necessarily mean you could simultaneously login (that's a hardware factor). It was none-the-less a big advantage over windoze.

Since the early days things have developed dramatically, however, the number of users issue still causes a good deal of discussion, see this forum discussion for instance. Once again it is not the total number of simultaneous users that is refered to here.

The number of users on the system can be limited by certain settings (you need admin privileges). I found some info on this at linuxtopia.

Hope that gives you a lead-in to the topic.

Cheers
    Achim

Hi

Multi-user means basically that. That many users could be logged on a system at the same time.