Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes
Hi, I'm new to Linux but my background is from IT support mostly windows based which include basic trouble shooting of networks. I would like to get help on how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Guidance on Linux

Hi,
    I'm new to Linux but my background is from IT support mostly windows based which include basic trouble shooting of networks. I would like to get help on how to start on Linux administration and prepare for some certifications. I recently migrated to Canada and want to put my step in IT field here. I have learned that certifications play important role in getting jobs.
    If I can get some guidance here I will truly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

Ali

Howdy there, ali! Welcome to LinuxForums!

IMO, best way to start learning about Linux is to use it on a day-to-day basis. Use it for a daily usage OS.
    You'll find yourself needing to install software, copy a file, use a flash drive and other normal tasks.
    After you're comfortable, you can look into various certs.

Just my two cents
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Linux Guru
    If you are a long time windows user, two options would be to dual-boot with a Linux distribution or install virtual software like VirtualBox and run Linux in it, or vice versa.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Thanks everyone for replying and helping me so far, I have already started installing Linux on a P4 IBM eserver. I am also thinking to make a few VM's and try different flavours of Linux. I guess installation would not be that great of a problem for me but working on command line wouldn't be easy. If I can get some tips for the command line that would be appreciated.

Linux Engineer