Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux, but the idea of a Linux OS I can boot from an SD card seems very convenient for my work. I understand that is possible ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing bootable OS on an encrypted SD?

I am new to linux, but the idea of a Linux OS I can boot from an SD card seems very convenient for my work. I understand that is possible according to this article:

pandorawiki.org/Running_Linux_from_an_SD_card

And this one, too:

linuxgeekoid.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/successfully-booting-and-installing-linux-from-a-flash-or-sd-card/

But what I want to do is have is full disk encryption on the SD card because it will be accessing banking details and sensitive financial data. I found this, concerning a similar setup on a USB card:

superuser.com/questions/87919/how-can-i-create-an-encrypted-bootable-thumbdrive-containing-linux

Is there any difference I should know about with the installation of more recent linux offerings?

I'm assuming it would be similar to this tutorial, except I want it on an SD card, not a hdd:

linuxbsdos.com/2011/05/10/how-to-install-ubuntu-11-04-on-an-encrypted-lvm-file-system/

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Quote Originally Posted by messus View Post
    I am new to linux, but the idea of a Linux OS I can boot from an SD card seems very convenient for my work. I understand that is possible according to this article:

pandorawiki.org/Running_Linux_from_an_SD_card

And this one, too:

linuxgeekoid.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/successfully-booting-and-installing-linux-from-a-flash-or-sd-card/

But what I want to do is have is full disk encryption on the SD card because it will be accessing banking details and sensitive financial data. I found this, concerning a similar setup on a USB card: