Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi everyone. I'm currently using Windows 8 and thinking of switching to Linux. I'm a Science Student (Physics Major). I want to make a switch because Windows 8 works cool ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Plz Help me choose a distro.

Hi everyone.

I'm currently using Windows 8 and thinking of switching to Linux. I'm a Science Student (Physics Major). I want to make a switch because Windows 8 works cool on fresh installation and after a few months now, everything looks messed up now. All those errors and application frequently crashing.

Here are my requirements:

- Chrome. It is a must. All my bookmarks, extensions are synced to my gmail account. I'm comfortable with Chrome cuz I've been using it for 2 years now and can work with 'least possible clicks.'
    - A good plotter. A software that can do graphs for me.
    - Office Suite.
    - pdf reader
    - LATEX or TEX editor.
    - 7zip
    - Music and Video (it should play mp3. Ubuntu doesn't support mp3 or DVD video). And good video converter.
    - bittorrent client.
    - Stable.

It should have tools to configure my system make it work the way I want. Ubuntu Unity has a very limited preferences to select and I'm stuck.

And I don't know nothing about my computer architecture. It runs x32 and x86. But x64 gives me some kinda error.

And the distro should support tarballs. I don't see a Next-Next-Next-Next-Finish Wizard when I double click on tarballs. But most sites only give me tarballs. How do I install new softwares?

Plz don't suggest Scibuntu. I don't like Ubuntu.

Linux Newbie
    Hi.

Because you're a scientific student, I may suggest Scientific Linux, it's based on RedHat.