Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello linuxforums =). So I'm new to this community. I've been interested in linux for a long time but as of now I'm still a windows user. =P Anyways I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Wants to Learn

Hello linuxforums =). So I'm new to this community. I've been interested in linux for a long time but as of now I'm still a windows user. =P

Anyways I'm tired of dipping my toes in the Linux Pool and thinking the water is far too cold so I'm trying to dive in this time and get more than my feet wet. I need your help!

Now you should know up front I've always been interested in hacking =P NO I'M NOT a CRIMINAL and NO I don't want to learn this to hurt people. As of right now I have over 16 years of experience repairing PC's at discount prices. I do this privately and save people a lot of money. Anyways I'm pretty good at PC repair. I have an extensive knowledge on this matter.

Now you need to know that I'm interested in furthering my understanding of . . . . well PC's, but . . . . . So much more than that as well. I'm particularly interested in Linux because it advertises as a more secure set up than Windows and because it's free!!! Particularly GNU is free. I'm trying to become independent in my computer use these days. I no longer want to depend on someone to do all the hard work and send me the results via the world wide web. Anyways I'm probably dragging this introduction on far too long so I'll get down to business now.

I am interested in the following.
    IPtables
    GNU (GNU's Not Unix)
    TCP/IP
    VoIP
    POP3
    Proxy

The above is kind of like the underlying make up of what I currently take for granted (World Wide Web)

I'm also interested in picking up a programming language. I always have been. There are SO many options though.