Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Okay, so I'm in an Intro to Linux class and I'm trying to use a live cd but the problem is that I cannot do what I need to do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question Can you be an admin in Linux using a LiveCD?


    Okay, so I'm in an Intro to Linux class and I'm trying to use a live cd but the problem is that I cannot do what I need to do as a normal user. I'm a super newbie, I've never used Linux or Fedora before this class (shoot me!). Can you set up an admin account using a livecd? If so, how. If not, what do I do?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,246
    Most live CDs make you root automatically or give you sudo access to all commands, which amounts to the same thing.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by hazel View Post
    Most live CDs make you root automatically or give you sudo access to all commands, which amounts to the same thing.
    Nope, it wouldn't let me do any root commands. :/

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hello and Welcome!
    The last time I used a Fedora LiveCD, you could open a terminal, enter su - and become root without a password.
    Just keep in mind that any and all changes that you make to the Live session will be reset when you reboot.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,412
    Try to use the commands with sudo in first place.

    But what kind of tasks are you actually trying to do which need root?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    116
    try enable the root user as below

    sudo -i

    then try

    sudo passwd root

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •