Find the answer to your Linux question:
i have 2 txt files usr/local/minecraft_server/vip/whitelist.txt usr/local/minecraft_server/public/whitelist.txt and i want them to copy over to /path/to/www/minecraft/files/vip/whitelist.txt /path/to/www/minecraft/files/public/whitelist.txt Maybe a simple backup script would do it but the file has to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

copying txt files

i have 2 txt files
    usr/local/minecraft_server/vip/whitelist.txt
    usr/local/minecraft_server/public/whitelist.txt

and i want them to copy over to

/path/to/www/minecraft/files/vip/whitelist.txt
    /path/to/www/minecraft/files/public/whitelist.txt

Maybe a simple backup script would do it but the file has to stay in original directory and be copied to the web directory for viewing on the forum.

I want it to do this once every 30 mins or hour
    I have been using linux for a few months but never explored its capabilities, maybe now is the time i should do it.

This is my first ever post or request for help and i did do a bit of googling before pesetering you guys here with what seems like a stupid noob question to some of you..

i look forward to your reply
    ty in advance
    rebz

Welcome!

This looks like a job for cron (see man cron). However, maybe a symlink will do.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Segfault View Post
    Welcome!

This looks like a job for cron (see man cron). However, maybe a symlink will do.
    ya that doesn't help me in the slightest
    when i say im a noob i mean really i AM a noob

thanx for the welcome though

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    The copy command has a lot of options. If you simply want to copy from the example above you could do: cp /usr/local/minecraft_server/vip/whitelist.txt /path/to/www/minecraft/files/vip/whitelist.txt