Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, im a newbie to to world of linux,I heard that RHEL is the best to begin with,but updates need registration.But i want to know if there is any alternative ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which Linux Distro is best to learn?

Hi, im a newbie to to world of linux,I heard that RHEL is the best to begin with,but updates need registration.But i want to know if there is any alternative to RHEL

Trusted Penguin
    Yes, CentOS. It is a binary-compatible clone of RHEL. Perfect for you needs. They have regular updates over the internet, a great user base, and tones of 3rd party software.

There is also ScientificLinux, another RHEL clone.

oz
    forum.guy
    Fully in agreement with atreyu here, and would go with CentOS if I was wanting to install the closest thing to RHEL without having to pay for subscription updates/support. I've never installed Scientific but it should be a close match as well.

Don't know for sure, but wonder if all the various Linux courses that are available allow students to use alternatives such as CentOS/Scientific?
    oz

Trusted Penguin
    Quote Originally Posted by oz View Post
    Don't know for sure, but wonder if all the various Linux courses that are available allow students to use alternatives such as CentOS/Scientific?
    When I took the RHEL CSA and CE courses, they provided me with a free copy of RHEL 6 that I could install at home. No free RHN login, though. After having taken the course, I'm pretty sure I would have been fine using CentOS in its place.

Linux Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by shreesh View Post
    Hi, im a newbie to to world of linux,I heard that RHEL is the best to begin with,but updates need registration.But i want to know if there is any alternative to RHEL