Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hie all am new to linux and am wanting to revive an old laptop i found in the attik its a dell inspiron 7500 and i cannot stand windows so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2

    help


    hie all am new to linux and am wanting to revive an old laptop i found in the attik its a dell inspiron 7500 and i cannot stand windows so i dnt usualy use pcs ore laptops but my frend uses dsl i have a kopy haw do i install it can any one help

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by sambo2013 View Post
    i have a kopy haw do i install it can any one help
    hello and welcome!

    follow the instructions found below, then report back with the details if you should run into any problems:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...ll-cd-dvd.html

    http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/wiki/i...hard_disk.html
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    just done the hd partition hda 1 and hda2 then restarted when the linux cd menu comes up i typed sudo -s into the command menu and it said no kernal image wat do i do

  4. #4
    Linux User zenwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Inland Empire
    Posts
    276
    Not to step on oz, but if you have a floppy, use "Installing DSL to a Harddisk (another way)"

    BTW, is this your system:
    Processor Intel Pentium III 650.0 MHz
    Memory 64.0 MB / 512.0 MB (max)
    Hard Drive 4.8 GB
    Display Type 15.4 in TFT active matrix
    Max Resolution 1280 x 1024 ( SXGA )
    Graphics Processor AGP 2x - ATI RAGE Mobility P
    Optical Drive CD-ROM - Integrated
    Video Memory 4.0 MB
    ?
    "What you think about me is none of my business"
    _______________________________________________
    antiX | Salix | Slacko

  5. #5
    Linux User zenwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Inland Empire
    Posts
    276
    Personally, I recommend TinyCore; then either learn how to create a swap file or max out your motherboard to 512MB RAM (preferably the latter).
    Best wishes!
    "What you think about me is none of my business"
    _______________________________________________
    antiX | Salix | Slacko

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Yep, TinyCore is a super nifty little distro! I used it just yesterday to upgrade the firmware on all my SSDs and it took all of about 3 minutes...
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •