Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Hello All, I am fairly new to linux development. I want to compile the very first linux kernel ---kernel 0.91. I am aware that it is going to be tough ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation where to find source code ?

Hello All,

I am fairly new to linux development. I want to compile the very first linux kernel ---kernel 0.91.

I am aware that it is going to be tough to compile it on xx386 machine. But i think this can be done.

I searched on Google as well on Kernel.org but all seem to show oldest kernel as 0.99 or something in that range. Doesn't anybody have source code of Kernel that Linus Sir wrote..?

Thanks
    Adorn

Either at home or at work or down the pub
    I found this on kernel.org but it doesn't have 0.91 although it does have older.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

Grandpa Simpson

The Fifth Continent

oz
    forum.guy
    hello and welcome!

you can probably join the kernel mailinglist and get on there to find someone that has a copy of the first kernel source code, or someone knows where it can be obtained.

even linus himself may have it stored off somewhere.
    oz

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Thanks for the replies..

I am really started to find this difficult(Well, nobody told me it will b easy.. lol)..

According to link given by elija and kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/Historic/old-versions/RELNOTES-0.01 release notes this is the first linux kernel.

But you see.. what i found last night is informatica.co.cr/linux-distributions/research/1994/0129.html which states "Changes from 0.90 to 0.91:". SO which is the VERY VERY FIRST kernel..? I had read the other day that 0.91 is the oldest and it seemed to make sense because of the year of birth..