Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
How can you unmount a hard drive in order to resize it with partitioner (Yast2)? I attach a screenshot. Please exaplain how to unmount the sda2 in order for me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12

    How can you unmount a hard drive in order to resize it with partitione


    How can you unmount a hard drive in order to resize it with partitioner (Yast2)?
    I attach a screenshot.

    Please exaplain how to unmount the sda2 in order for me to resize it?
    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Hello and welcome!

    I've personally recommend using a liveCD such as Parted Magic and running the partitioning tool (gparted) included in that. Doing it that way, you don't run into mounted partition problems.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thank you.....
    do you mean this website?:
    howtoforge.com/partitioning_with_gparted

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    or any other link greatly appreciated

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    The umount /dev/sda[#] command allows you to unmount hard drives, but as Oz said, Parted Magic is the way to go.

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I was referring to one of those below (and they are free software, by the way):

    Parted Magic LiveCD - start

    GParted -- Live CD/USB/PXE/HD

    ...but you can find gparted on other liveCDs as well.
    oz

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thank you!

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You'll also find many other utilities on those liveCDs that are very handy to have on hand for diagnostics and various rescue efforts.
    oz

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    ok i did it...i burned the iso, insert the dvd with the iso image..I boot the virtual amchine with the linux machine in it and the only options for booting that it gives me are:

    SUSE enterprise server 11
    failsafe-SUSE enterprise 11
    floppy


    no dvd boot option!
    Please advise and thanks

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    should i hold down the key "c" while booting?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •