Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Linux gurus and the rest of you pleasant folks. I've only taken basic computer science classes, and am a scientist by profession. I fell in love with Unix-based command ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Does BASH Make you Stupid?? For a learning programmer...

Hello Linux gurus and the rest of you pleasant folks.

I've only taken basic computer science classes, and am a scientist by profession. I fell in love with Unix-based command lines when I was introduced to the pipe. Everything changed since then. I REFUSE to manually analyze and organize my results anymore. Everything must be done repeatably and with a single keystroke. I started picking up bash scripting from the internet, and just couldn't let go.

I consulted some manuals and went online, and what I learned was disturbing. They said that novice programmers would be at a major disadvantage if they learned BASH first, that they would pick up "bad habits" and not fully appreciate the fundamentals of computing needed to make reliable, efficient programs.

For those of you who read my previous posts, I've been hard at work making a program to analyze parsed laboratory data -- a very grep/sed/awk heavy project.

I can complete this program in a few months time, I think, with all of the parameters and options I need to make it a useful tool for fellow scientists. That would be my dream! But I'm torn, because by that time, the bad habits of BASH might have solidified in my mind. The next software solution I need may be better off written in Python (most scripts used in genetics, my field, appear to be). I don't want to have to unlearn a bunch of BASH stuff, and make the learning curve even harder for myself when the time comes around.

So for you wise old programmers, what do you suggest?