Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi guys, how essential is it to know vim as a linux admin? i have been watching a few tutorials and realise that it is its own world. i am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Where does VIM actually fit in???

hi guys,

how essential is it to know vim as a linux admin?

i have been watching a few tutorials and realise that it is its own world.
    i am just trying to work out where it actually fits in
    im a windows admin trying to learn more on Linux

is it just used mostly for editing config files on Linux?
    surely you wouldnt use it to write perl scripts? are there not better tools for writing perl etc

just like i wouldnt use notepad to write html or php...i might use notepad ++ maybe

any info appreciated
    thanks for reading

Linux Enthusiast
    The UNIX standard says that it must contain an editor that is compatible with "VI", and "vim" (vi improved) meats that need. Once you get past the curve on the learning curve, it is a very great editor.

The commands are very old and if you learn what they mean (like 'x' is 'x out' which is what you did back on a type writer way before "white out" does a character delete).

Just Joined!
    yes alf i understand, but where is it mostly used in the work place? as an admin...

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru