Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I'm a newbie and I'm looking for something that I hope is possible. I have a pinball machine. This machine is connected to my pc through a usb ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Boot a Linux machine from an usb device

Hi there,

I'm a newbie and I'm looking for something that I hope is possible.
    I have a pinball machine. This machine is connected to my pc through a usb connection.
    What I'm looking for is a solution that when I power on my pinball machine, the pc is started automattically. I think it's similar in a way like wake on lan. As soon as the pc starts up, it will need to execute a program on the pc (this I already have). When I turn off the pinball machine, the pc needs to shut down as well.
    My gut feeling tells me that this will be easier to realize on a Linux platform than a Windows platform. Can anyone help me?

it possible? Thanks for any suggestion or pointers.

Kind regards,

Roy

Hi

For this you will have to rely on your computer bios rather than the OS, be it windows or linux, some motherboards have the option of "wake on usb" just the same of wake on lan, but it doesn't seems to be very common. Another option you can use set its power options to start when it receives power and use a common electrical switch for you pinball and computer.

Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by arespi View Post
    Hi

For this you will have to rely on your computer bios rather than the OS, be it windows or linux, some motherboards have the option of "wake on usb" just the same of wake on lan, but it doesn't seems to be very common. Another option you can use set its power options to start when it receives power and use a common electrical switch for you pinball and computer.

Good luck
    ^ This.

I've never seen a wake on USB option in a BIOS. Your best bet would probably be to jump the power pins on the mobo.