Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm fairly new to Linux, so maybe it's a bit odd to start such a complex project. I have read some begiiners books and parts of the more advanced ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux From Scratch - LFS

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Linux, so maybe it's a bit odd to start such a complex project.
    I have read some begiiners books and parts of the more advanced ones.
    Anyway I was wondering if anybody can help me with this question:

What permissions do you set on the /mnt/lfs directory?

I have successfully build and installed all the packages from chapter 3 to 5 and now I want to move on to Part III. Building the LFS System.
    Question:
    Should you do that as the lfs user?

Thanks in advance

You chroot and build your LFS system. What you have done up until now is create the temporary system for you to build the LFS system.
    I suggest you backup the temporary system ... that way if you make a mess of building the system you can just restore the backup and start again at the beginning of chapter 6

It took me two attempts to build the temporary system, I found the toolchain I built did not work properly the first time. It also took me two attempts to build the LFS system - I was glad I could restore a backup rather than having to rebuild the temporary system again ...

Good luck with your build

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan183 View Post
    You chroot and build your LFS system. What you have done up until now is create the temporary system for you to build the LFS system.
    I suggest you backup the temporary system ... that way if you make a mess of building the system you can just restore the backup and start again at the beginning of chapter 6