Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone, I am a newbie to Linux (Well, not really, I have been using it on and off for quite some time now) The problem I have come across ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Every Linux Distro Does not Work for me.

Hello Everyone, I am a newbie to Linux (Well, not really, I have been using it on and off for quite some time now) The problem I have come across though is that now my computer (custom-made) does not want to accept any linux distro whats so ever.

I want to explore linux to its full potential. Right now I just downloaded Manjaro (My favorite Distro) within my computer as well with windows 7. It boots up fine, as well as grub, until I select Manjaro on Grub. After, a screen of pure greyness just pops up.

I have tried every linux distro that is within the top 15 on distrowatch, and all of them have the same problem. They dont start (Even ubuntu), They have graphical Errors and cannot run the most previous graphical interface such as Gnome 3.6, or the installation fails and I get the grub error, which is a pain in the ass switching back to the windows boot sector.

Now, my Question is, what is going on, and why does linux hate me? Why isn't it not letting me discover it at all? Here are the specs of my custom computer:

8GB Ram
    AMD 6670 Graphics card
    AMD Phenom II X6 6 Core

I just got a new motherboard too. Could that be a problem?

Trusted Penguin
    hello and welcome,

Quote Originally Posted by Envyforme View Post
    8GB Ram
    AMD 6670 Graphics card
    AMD Phenom II X6 6 Core

I just got a new motherboard too. Could that be a problem?
    possibly, your video card specifically. at the boot prompt of one of your Linux distros (I know this works for Fedora/CentOS/RHEL, etc.), disable framebuffer drivers:
    Code:
    vga=normal nomodeset
    you add this after the other arguments on the kernel line.

Just Joined!