Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
I am creating a OS for my companies thin client and I wanted to create an administrative portal so I can log onto any of the machines and administrate. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Setup administrative portal

I am creating a OS for my companies thin client and I wanted to create an administrative portal so I can log onto any of the machines and administrate. I was thinking it might be possible to have a port listen for a ssh connection and then require a username and password to log on. If my terminology is wrong please tell me I am new to Linux.
    Last edited by JaredC; 06-27-2013 at 09:56 PM.

I suggest you do quite a bit more reading about security before you setup a 'backdoor' ... anything you can do the bad guys can do as well.

Just Joined!
    I think you're right and I am using the wrong terminology. I want to enable a way to have a remote session connect using authentication. Basically I would connect to it and enter a username and password that would grant me console access. BTW what is the right term for what I am trying to do so I can edit the title accordingly.

I think you are trying to setup remote access to allow administration of systems. Administration tools for thin clients might be a better title than setup backdoor

You can use ssh with username and password information but if you are relying only on username and password then anyone else knowing the username and password will have exactly the same access as you - so you need to set a strong password. If you do use ssh then at least don't use the default port.

Just Joined!
    Is there a way to make it any more secure then using a random port with a username and password?

Yes ... http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/sec...tml#post929857 is one approach ... I'm sure other forum members have other suggestions

Just Joined!