Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Hi, I'm fairly new to Linux. I've tried the distro test, but I need a very specific recommendation. I have an old laptop that I use for nothing but reading ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Specific Distro fro old laptop and specialized need

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Linux. I've tried the distro test, but I need a very specific recommendation. I have an old laptop that I use for nothing but reading cbr and cbz files (comic books!). Basically, they are sequential rar files of jpg images.

The laptop in question is one Panasonic Let's Note CF-T1, a Japanese exclusive that makes finding information for those not fluent in Japanese elusive. It has a mere 128MB of RAM. While paltry by today's standards, it is totally sufficient to do what I need it to do even using Wondows XP, but I would prefer a much more pared-down LINUX.

The machine will boot from an external CD-ROM or DVD drive. It will not boot from any other kind of USB device (I've tried), so my best bet is to install something from a live CD that is streamlined for low-end systems.

The comic-book files are loaded via an external USB hard drive so I need USB support and would greatly prefer a GUI or graphic file browser with standard copy and paste keyboard shortcuts. I view in the maximum resolution of 728 x 1024.

Also, I'm an intermediate computer user but a novice LINUX user.