Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there! First: Pardon my english, itīs not my mother tongue, so spelling mistakes and other mistakes may occour My MacBook is about to die, and I cant afford a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Revive almost dead MacBook?

Hi there!

First: Pardon my english, itīs not my mother tongue, so spelling mistakes and other mistakes may occour

My MacBook is about to die, and I cant afford a new one. Yeah, I could get a cheap laptop with preinstalled Windows 8, but i seriously cant stand Windows 8. I am a noob to the Linux-world, although I've used the Linux distro red hat (and tried Ubuntu) at uni. As far I as have understood OS and Linux is kind of releated through the Unix connection from the early days, right?

So, well. I have this old, white MacBook (bought in early 2009) who runs mountain lion. Itīs very slow, and go into "freeze"-mode quite often. I'm thinking of installing a Linux distro alonside OS X. My question is:
    1 - Do ypu reckon itīs worth a try, and maybe will make my mac last a little bit longer?
    2 - Which Linux distro is the most similiar with OS X?

Nice day to yaīll

How about you look at the tags or what ever and give us some details on that Macbook. You can post a link by copying the link and leaving a space inbetween the h ttp and it wil post.
    Members can copy and paste your link and move that space over to see the info you supply on that Macbook so they can advise you.

Edit: where are my manners, Howdy and Welcome to the forums.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    Of course! These are the specs of my MacBook
    h ttp://support.apple.com/kb/SP579

And - thank you!

MacBook (13-inch, Late 2009) - Technical Specifications

2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor