Find the answer to your Linux question:
Installing native Linux on an external hard-drive to be used internally in an ancient Pentium I Hi, I have some small experience with Linux - back in my university days, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing native Linux on an external hard-drive to be used internall

Installing native Linux on an external hard-drive to be used internally in an ancient Pentium I

Hi,

I have some small experience with Linux - back in my university days, the computers in the student's computer lab in my faculty were running Linux, but as I was always logging a laptop around, I hardly ever used any of the school's computers, and when I did, it was mostly to run SPSS, which ran on Windows systems, so I didn't to use Linux much at all.

I've been meaning to correct that oversight for years, but usually I was loath to install a 2nd operation system on a computer already running a perfectly good one, be it Windows or Mac OS.

Now, however, I have a unique opportunity to do just that.

I was cleaning the attic and found my very first laptop, from the mid `90's. Most of the time, I throw away old laptops when they break down, and it isn't economic to fix them, so I end up buying new ones. This one, however, I set aside because my father bought himself a new laptop back in 99, and he gave me his old one, which was superior to mine, so I migrated. Which meant I now had a working laptop sitting around, and so I kept it as a backup system and dumped it in the attic - and promptly forgot about it.

It is a Pentium I, 120MHZ, 16MB RAM (basic + extended).