Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I had some problems converting mp4's video to mp3 audio files. I searched the web and found three different solutions that all seems to work for other users. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hlp understanding terminal commands syntax

Hi.
    I had some problems converting mp4's video to mp3 audio files. I searched the web and found three different solutions that all seems to work for other users. I did get it working - yet I don't understand why one worked and the two others did not.

When I tried those solutions I was rather puzzled. I experinced things that was never to been reported by others, ie one of the clever one-liners seemed to destroy the content of the the source mp4's without actually producing any mp3's.

I am rather new to Linux but I am amazed by the power of the terminal. Seems most things can by done by search and easy tool. Unfortunatly I am new to this way of thinking and solving problems. Earlier I have looked for .exe files or .msi or whatever and dblclicked to add or alter things. So I have major lacks of knowladge of terminal "language".

Can someone pls explain to me in laymans terms the difference between these three terminal commands?

#1:
    Code:
    for f in *.mp4; do ffmpeg -i "$f" -vn -b:a libmp3lame -ar 44100 -ac 2 -ab 192k "${f%mp4/mp3}"; done
    #2:
    Code:
    for f in *.mp4; do ffmpeg -i "$f" -acodec libmp3lame  -ab 192 "${f%mp4/mp3}"; done
    #3:
    Code:
    for f in *.mp4; do ffmpeg -i "$f" -ab 320k "${f%.mp4}.mp3"; done
    I do understand some of it after browsing and googling, but I can not see why the outcome is different between them. When navigating to correct folder/directory in terminal the *.mp4 tells ffconvert to convert ALL files within directory to {f%mp4/mp3}, which must be mp4 to mp3. But there are also "$f" -ab 320k.