Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Hello all, Clearly, I'm new to Linux. I want to use Debian on an old P4 laptop. KDE as an environment will not work because of RAM restrictions. I'd like ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Few Newbie Questions

Hello all,

Clearly, I'm new to Linux. I want to use Debian on an old P4 laptop.

KDE as an environment will not work because of RAM restrictions. I'd like to use something very basic like TWM or CDE. Can I use those with Debian or are they too antiquated? If so how? The distros seem to come preloaded with GNOME/KDE/etc.

I couldn't find the answer in the stickies.

Or will KDE work?

Thanks all.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    There are a couple of solutions here. One is that you can increase memory by increasing swap space - btw, the P4 should be 64-bit capable. Did you install a 32-bit image, or a 64-bit one? The other is to use a lighter weight window manager. TWM is way out-of-date. I'd recommend trying XFCE instead. It is much more capable and modern. Most all current distros support xfce.

Yeah - I just verified that the P4 supports the x86 64-bit instruction set.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    My P4 is 32-bit, it's a Dell Latitude C640 with 1.5GB of RAM. Must be over 10 years old now. I haven't installed anything, I want to know what to do before doing so.

XFCE looks great. Can I try TWM? How would I go about installing and using XFCE/TWM/whatever environment with Debian?

I'm not sure more swap will help, especially with a slow hard drive.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    XFCE is a lightweight and excellect desktop you can also tell Debian to install and use it from the install prompt line. Add desktop=xfce to the install parameters.