Find the answer to your Linux question:
I hate Windows 8. I refuse to be stuck with this monstrosity. I'm ready to switch to Linux, but don't have a clue which distro to use. I have a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ready to switch, but need to run Windows 8 too

I hate Windows 8. I refuse to be stuck with this monstrosity. I'm ready to switch to Linux, but don't have a clue which distro to use. I have a relatively new Dell laptop, so I'm sure any of them would do.

I'm not a gamer, except for an occasional game of spider solitaire or free cell. I get all my entertainment online through streaming videos and downloaded music. I read ebooks. I am a professional writer/blogger, so I need to be able to download and upload images and files rather quickly. I have really fast Xfinity Comcast internet. I occasionally play around with graphics.

I need to keep Windows on my machine due to having to use an older version of Paint Shop Pro, which isn't compatible with Linux at all (No, I don't want GIMP, TYVM. Too difficult to learn to use). Also have a couple of Windows programs I really like, so I want to run the two OSs side-by-side.

Which Linux would be best for me, and how hard is it to run them side-by-side? ETA: I only have 4G of ram on a 64-bit machine.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Angelpie; 11-14-2013 at 08:38 PM.

Many ways to approach this, but I would use VirtualBox or similar package and run one of the OSes as a virtual machine. Which way depends on if you actually have Windows install disks or not.

1. If you have real Windows install disks and install disks for all your Windows app's, you could wipe your laptop, install Linux, then install VirtualBox and create a virtual machine and install Windows in it. IMO Windows is actually more stable in a virtual machine than a physical.