Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi guys, im new to Linux etc etc im trying to run rsync from a windows server 2008 r2 server to my centos box 20km away using a ssh tunnel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Rsync over ssh tunnel using cygwin

hi guys,

im new to Linux etc etc

im trying to run rsync from a windows server 2008 r2 server to my centos box 20km away using a ssh tunnel

i have the ssh tunnel sorted with keys etc...when i type user@ipaddress i dont get prompted for a password

i was just trying to copy one of the smaller directories from my cygwin shell for testing purposes but have had no luck...

here is what command im using and whats happening

Code:
    rsync -auv cygdrive/d/adtdata  User@121.5.23.1:home/user/companydata/adt
    when i enter the command i get a return...

Code:
    rsync; change_dir /cygdrive/d//cygdrive/d failed: no such file or directory (2)
    rsync; change_dir #3 /home/user/companydata failed: no such file or directory (2)
    But the directories on the receiving server have been created and i can navigate them no problem...

what have i got wrong???

any ideas, please
    j0n1n
    Last edited by atreyu; 11-20-2013 at 05:02 AM. Reason: added CODE tags to aid in readability

Trusted Penguin
    Is User really user? I ask b/c in your remote path, you say home/user/.... anyway, when you ssh in, by default you are in your home directory already, so you can leave off that bit, e.g.:

Code:
    rsync -auv cygdrive/d/adtdata  User@x.x.x.x:companydata/adt
    or you can supply the full absolute path (you left off the leading "/" in yours), e.g:
    Code:
    rsync -auv cygdrive/d/adtdata  User@x.x.x.x:/home/user/companydata/adt