Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, So with Microsoft abandoning XP soon, I figured it was time to finally move to something a little more modern. A few friends used to always rave about ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

recommendation for linux os for complete newb on older machine

Hello all,

So with Microsoft abandoning XP soon, I figured it was time to finally move to something a little more modern. A few friends used to always rave about linux, especially ubuntu. So I thought I would give linux a try since my machine is older and Windows 7 & 8 don't appeal to me.

So, basically looking for a recommendation for a linux OS for someone who has never used linux before, doesn't read or write code or anything technical like that. Have been a windows user my entire life.

My machine was built by a friend a few years ago on a budget, so not a very powerful one-

-Asus P5E-VM HDMI motherboard
    -Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
    -4 Gb of RAM
    -NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 video card
    -Currently running Windows XP SP3

I do a lot of internet surfing, watch all my TV and Movies via streaming off this tower, and a fair amount of downloading. Used to do some WoW, not anymore, but may game again someday. Still run the ePSXe emulator every once in a while.

Any advice is much appreciated. If you could possibly support your argument why I should go with a certain OS.