Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello First, thanks everyone who helps the new If I type top I can see processes currently running on my PC. But how to look through those processes? I can't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    14

    top - how to look through processes


    Hello

    First, thanks everyone who helps the new

    If I type top I can see processes currently running on my PC. But how to look through those processes? I can't just scroll down the window, because there are not scroll bars to the right.

    Total tasks are 83 and I can only see about 20 of them.

    Can anybody help?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer docbop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Woodshed, CA
    Posts
    949
    Install htop you can scroll and also option to display the relationship of processes.
    A lion does not lose sleep, over the opinion of sheep.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    679
    Top uses the space (combination of window/screen size and the font size) to show the "top" usage of resources (with refresh). To see more via top you can make the terminal window taller, make the font smaller). Of course, another option is
    Code:
     ps axwww
    .

    top.jpg

    Of course that can be taken to extremes (making it too hard to read).

    tiny_top.jpg

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,763
    Or...

    Code:
    ps -faux | less

  6. #5
    Linux User nihili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    349
    with htop you can definitely scroll with arrow keys or pgup/pgdown.
    depending on your terminal emulator, even mousewheel scrolling should be possible.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    59
    berserk, ps aux does what you want better, you can even apply pipes use it with less or more and lastly you can use space or return if the screen is full
    Code:
    ps aux | less

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •