Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I'm new to linux. I have an old laptop running Windows Vista that's all upto date. I want to install a linux OS like debian so I can dual ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

increase boot partition on a USB flash drive

Hi
    I'm new to linux. I have an old laptop running Windows Vista that's all upto date. I want to install a linux OS like debian so I can dual boot. I found a good article on everydaylinux website. I followed it step by step. Downloaded the recomended linux mate iso, used UNetbootin, formated the 16GB USB flash drive I have - when I go to format it only shows FAT as an option so there is no option for FAT32 and the boot partition is limited to about 55MB - is there a way to increase the boot partition on the USB flash drive?????(ive already tried 'partition tool' and it won't let me increase the partition size it would only let me decrease). Every ISO version I've seen of Linux distributions are much bigger than 55MB. Is there a smaller ISO file of a Linux distribution I could use? I have shrunk the C drive on my laptop an have got about 25GB free unallocation but it has no drive letter assigned - is there a way to install the ISO image directly onto the 25GB of free disk space I have? On my laptop with Windows Vista SP I clicked on 'computer managment| storage| disk managment| then if I right click on the 25GB unallocated bit it comes up with 'new simple volume' I click next specify a volume and assign a drive letter then click next then it comes up with 'format with the following setting' File System: NTFS or FAT32 Do I need to select FAT32???????then it has two tick boxed one for quick format and one for enable file and folder compression. Do i need to tick these?

Any help would be great

Linux Newbie
    windows no longer offers format to fat32 so you will have to look at the alternatives, here is a link that may help