Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

I wan to backup my files before I edit them

I am very careful about what I do and I want to backup my config files before I edit them with vI and I want to do this every time and I am a Linux admin.

I copy the file to the same name and add .old to the end. Them I move (mv command) the .old copy to the old directory.

The problem is that It may overwwrite or not write the file as it is a duplicate name.

I do not want to cp and delete the file for danger of loosing the change.

is there a way I can mv the file and have it take care of duplicate file names for me ( like httpd.conf.old ) ?

I use the later versions of redhat Linux

A short bash script instead of the move command would work. You would need to give existing filename, the date as,say, mmdd and the new folder path as parameters.
    And your script would have the existing name as $1, the new name as $3 + $1 + $2. If you open the terminal from within the appropriate folder, $1 would pick up the existing file without needing the full path.

Or you could just copy the file inserting the 4 digit date before the '.old' then mv it. (Sorry I'd missed the part where you copied the file first).
    Last edited by peteh; 12-11-2016 at 01:44 PM. Reason: to add the simple copy/move

You could use vim, it has backup feature.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Easiest way, is to change the way you rename the files to add a timestamp from (example):

cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.old

to

cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.old.$(date +"%Y-%m-%dT%H%M%S%:z")"

a) Dont directly edit config files on a server.
    Directly editing on the server will lead to uniq snowflakes and missing documentation.

b) Let a automation tool of your choice (puppet/chef/ansible) execute *all* changes.

c) Manage the manifests/cookbooks/playbooks via git.
    Git is the de facto standard for any versioned textfiles.