Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Switching from Windows7... here is what I am looking for

I am not a Linux newbie per se. I have played with various distros over the decades but never actually found a compelling reason to switch from Windows. Now I have a compelling reason, it's called Windows 10.

I am looking for a Linux distro that is small enough for older machines (including some really old 32-bit IBM ThinkPad workhorses) but still capable to run newer, better hardware, as my desktop has a 6th-gen core i7 and 16GB RAM.

It's got to be XFCE as DE.

It must be possible to run the whole show from a USB stick as a live system with persistence and also as a frugal install from a HD (again with persistence). Being able to snapshot a running system into a new live ISO would be great.

Ideally I want a bare-bones system with all the drivers, DE etc but no heavy apps, ie no LibreOffice, no vlc, no audio player, no fancy editor, no photo editor). I have already software for these things running under Windows and most of them are either available for Linux (Scite, XNviewMP, Palemoon...) or do run in Wine (IrfanView etc).

I am not afraid to get my hands dirty with admin stuff. In fact I will spend a lot of my time in a terminal window as I am not the point-and-click type.

I have looked into Porteus and MX17 so far. Both are almost perfect... my biggest gripe is the number of apps already installed.

The Linux distro scene being what it is, I can never hope to find the perfect distro on my own, so anyone with an idea, a pointer, please come forward! Thanks.

The Linux distro scene being what it is, I can never hope to find the perfect distro on my own, so anyone with an idea, a pointer, please come forward! Thanks.