Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to this. Can you tell me where i can enter a startup script after a user logon to mount some remote drives. I've got the smbmount to work ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Startup Scripts

I'm new to this. Can you tell me where i can enter a startup script after a user logon to mount some remote drives. I've got the smbmount to work ok but I would like to automate it

While I'm on the subject, how can I start up two Gnomes sessions under different users?
    Regards

Linux Engineer
    You can add this to the users .bash_profile that will be executed every time the user logs on. But its better to mount drives/filesystems from /etc/fstab then the drives will automaticly be mounted after a reboot for example...your aother filesystems and mounts already exists in that file..

Regards
    Regards

Andutt

Linux Guru
    There are several ways to start up two gnome sessions:
    1. Log in at two different text terminals as the two different users and run startx for both.
    2. Configure to different local X displays for your display manager, and switch between the two VTs to log in at both.
    3. If you have GNOME 2.2, you can start a slave gdm once you're logged in, much like WinXP's user switching thing.

Just Joined!
    Thank you both very much. Still a few problems with the mount.
    /etc/fstab doesn't seem to like the file type smbfs. At lleast I think that is what its complaining about. (Redhat v9). The other option of using .bash_profile complains that mount requires root permissions to execute.

Any thoughts?
    Regards

Linux Engineer
    You must set "set uid or set gid" so that normal users gets granted to mount shares... but setuid and set gid are a potential security risc. BUt if you want to do that you do like this...

Code:
    chmod u+s /usr/sbin/smbmount
    Then your file will look like this..