Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I really need help!!! I have been using linux for a couple of months on my pc and i like Libranet and i use ICEWM and i love it. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3

    Installing on Laptop with no CD


    I really need help!!! I have been using linux for a couple of months on my pc and i like Libranet and i use ICEWM and i love it. I have a ibm 760 with a pentium 75mhz processer that i would really like linux on but i have no cd and cannot connect to the internet. is there n e way to get a full floppy version of linux that i can actually use the hard drive with or at least a free OS that will let me set up my internet and then try one of the ftp installations????Please help??
    STeve
    Thanks for n e response

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    have a look at this page

    http://www.linuxgazette.com/issue65/tag/15.html

    it may answer your question. I found it by searching on www.google.com/linux

    have fun
    Nerderello

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks, i will look into it!!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    /dev/ocean
    Posts
    20

    Mirror

    i will look into it!!

    Like a good mirror.

    Actually, I have Slackware installed on a Compaq Aero subnotebook.
    '486 SX 25, with not much HDD or RAM, and no CD. It was quite easy to install from a set of about 15 floppies. Works fine.
    Next time, I'd prolly do a network install instead.
    See http://www.slackware.com/install/ and
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...tall-HOWTO.pdf

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    12

    laptop

    Do you have a network card?
    maybe a pcmcia cdrom available?


    let me know.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    bluegroper -
    i just had a quick question - once i get the basic system installed, some of the packages for x windows are much bigger then will fit onto a 1.44 floppy, how do i get those packages or can i not?
    Thanks,
    Steve

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    /dev/ocean
    Posts
    20

    No GUI

    Steve
    My Compaq Aero is only a low powered '486
    Its strictly a command line only device. No GUI or X window installed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •