Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
today i have installed linux red hat 8.0 when i booted linux red hat 8.0 i expected to get the GUI login but it wasn't how do i get that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Heist op den berg Belgium
    Posts
    4

    how do i get in the GUI??


    today i have installed linux red hat 8.0 when i booted linux red hat 8.0
    i expected to get the GUI login but it wasn't how do i get that GUI on my screen. you see i am a newbie. and i dont know much commands so if anybody can give me a good site or something else to learn de commands.
    thx

  2. #2
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    When you installed RH 8.0 didn't ask you what interface (GUI) you wanted? Like KDE or Gnome or Xwindows etc...? I ask because mine did.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  3. #3
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    When you installed RH 8.0 didn't setup ask you what interface (GUI) you wanted? Like KDE or Gnome or Xwindows etc...? I ask because mine did.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    The set up should have asked you what default boot you wanted - text or graphical. At least it does in RH 9.0...

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Ok,

    start up you machine, boot to linux and login as root.

    If you have X already setup, run startx.

    Basically, you need to edit /etc/inittab. at the top of this file, there is the following line:
    Code:
    id:3:initdefault:
    change this to:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    Now save the file.

    restart the PC and you should have a graphical login.

    let us know if "startx" does not work.

    For details of using the linux command line, have a look in our tutorials section.

    Jason

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Heist op den berg Belgium
    Posts
    4
    thx for the help. i have a sis 650 3d-accelerator but there is no driver for mine. i have chosen an earlier version. but that gave ugly screens and he idd asked for the graphical mode but when the instalation was finished and the system rebooted. i got the ugly screen i am going to try the code you gave.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    have you tried the generic SVGA/VESA drivers?

    i use those for my own SIS 650/630 chipset with Redhat 8 and they do the job.

    Jason

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Heist op den berg Belgium
    Posts
    4
    do i have to reinstall it again??

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    no.

    Get to a command prompt, and type:

    xf86config


    it is a wizard for configuring XWindows.

    Just answer the questions it asks you, and then run "startx".

    Jason

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Heist op den berg Belgium
    Posts
    4
    i have tried that but it have not worked. i there no possibility to update the setup? because i would like to work with linux but i cant work with the prompt i woulld like to work with the GUI

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •