Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Since my Windows 98 cd is kind of buggy for some reason(I think its got some scratches on it), so I'm wondering; can a Windows installation be run from within ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    123

    Is it possible to install Windows while running Linux


    Since my Windows 98 cd is kind of buggy for some reason(I think its got some scratches on it), so I'm wondering; can a Windows installation be run from within Linux?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I don't think so. There is a DOS emulator, but I don't think that it emulates protected mode. You could always use VMware, though, I guess.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8

    ...

    No, it does not work.
    Becouse windows wont install if a linux is installed on the same Harddrive.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    You'll first need to dual boot.
    After this, you can use all your win apps in Linux using VMware.

  6. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    No you can install it using VMware. You just set it up to recognize your two (physical or logical) hardrives and have it boot from CD. And then install it on the appriopiate hard drive.

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    Quote Originally Posted by pwned123
    Becouse windows wont install if a linux is installed on the same Harddrive.
    Actually, as long as you have free space (unpartitioned) on the harddrive, you can install any OS you want, including Windows. But if you install Windows after Linux, Windows has a nasty habit of switching the bootloader to windows, and it's a bit of a pain to setup GRUB/LILO again.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1
    I've just installed Ubuntu because Windows didn't want to regognise that my new SATA HDD is there and I was wondering, does installing windows with VMware mean that windows is emulated? Or is a proper install? Also, could this be done this other emulators?

    EDIT:

    Sorry for the major bump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •