Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello All, I'm completely new to the world of Linux. In fact, technically I don't even have it yet, but I'll be having it installed on my new gaming PC. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake, XP, and 2k

Hello All,

I'm completely new to the world of Linux. In fact, technically I don't even have it yet, but I'll be having it installed on my new gaming PC. I do have a question about a couple of things though. My roomie is running Win2k and has external DSL. A close friend(whose dad will be helping me build my PC) of ours has XP and will be coming over quite frequently for LAN parties. Should I get a DSL router for my computer or is there anyway to get ICS to work with Linux? Also is there any special things that need to be done to my Linux system so we can network the systems to play games over the network? (I've heard of Samba but really don't know what it does exactly) Oh I'll be using Mandrake Linux 9.1 (I guess) BTW and will be checking here chronicly for tips and tricks for Linux.

flw
    Linux Engineer
    Yes, on one of the machines setup a proxy server and all machines go there for net access. Which ever one has the most cpu/ram would be the likely choice for the proxy.

If you want to share files etc... with the windoze machines you will need Samba (server) share setup.
    Dan

\"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

Just Joined!
    My linux system will have the highest cpu/ram of the three, so I guess that labels me the proxy server. Would a DSL router be a more convienient/easier way to do net sharing? I also have an Xbox, and there are a few games I want to play through Live. *checks Samba for need to get list*

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    flw
    Linux Engineer