Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I need a lot of help right now First off. I set up all most all of my Linux Server (redhat 9) in x windows. Cause my pc is only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    21

    Question


    I need a lot of help right now

    First off. I set up all most all of my Linux Server (redhat 9) in x windows. Cause my pc is only 500mhz I want to make it so it doesn't start up in x windows anymore because I need it to go a little faster.

    Also can I use samba through a simpe SMC internet router?

    And what are the critical things I need to edit in my samba.conf file?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    to prevent your PC from starting X windows automatically:

    start up you machine, boot to linux and login as root.

    Basically, you need to edit /etc/inittab. at the top of this file, there is the following line:

    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:

    change this to:

    Code:
    id:3:initdefault:


    Now save the file.

    restart the PC and you should have a NON graphical login.

    to start x windows once at the command prompt, run "startx"


    For the samba issue, i would recommend this howto:
    http://hr.uoregon.edu/davidrl/samba/

    Could you explain exactly what you want to do with your router?


    Jason

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    For your first question all you have to do is edit (as root) your /etc/rc.conf file. Look for the line

    Code:
    DISPLAYMANAGER=
    And comment it out with a hash (#).
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    21
    I want to make it so I can share files back and forth.

  5. #5
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Then you want to check into Samba server and shares. www.samba.org
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    21
    yeah I know Redhat has samba already installed. I'm just trying to figure out how to install samba. and Ineed some help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •