Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a complete novice to Linux. I recently installed Mandrake 9.1 and am grappling with the change over from Windows. I must say that i like what i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hardware config

Hi, I am a complete novice to Linux. I recently installed Mandrake 9.1 and am grappling with the change over from Windows. I must say that i like what i see so far. I have however two main problems.
    1. My Modum being a controllerless win modum was not detected on installation. I have visited Linuxant.com and downloaded recent drivers and installed them however i cannot see a "device manager" within Mandrake 9.1. How do i manage hardware within this OS?
    PS has anyone been successful with this type of Modum i.e 56K PCI HSF
    ID Ven 127A Device 1025.

2. I cannot get my HP Scanjet 5100 to work, the OS won't recognise it i have tried Scandrake??? and it won't detect it. I have heard that P Port devices don't sit to well with Linux is this true. Is their no hope with this one.

Any reply would be greatly appreciated.
    Tats

flw
    Linux Engineer
    Two points.

One your OS is Mandrake not KDE, Gnome or one of the other GUI's that you can install. Although I have hear of drivers for "Winmodems" I have not heard anyone report that they have one working. Hopefully your the exception. We'll hear from other but I don't think your modem is going to work. Just my opinion.

Two your HP Scanjet 5100 is may not be Linux compatible. You'll still need to have a dual boot machine or hook it up to another if possible.

Drivers are only for:

Windows 95
    Windows 98
    Windows Me
    Windows NT 4.0
    Windows 2000
    Windows XP
    Macintosh computer (*PPDs included for all but the HP LaserJet 5100Le and 5100se)
    OS/2 PCL/PCL6 printer driver*
    OS/2 PS printer driver*

*The OS/2 drivers are also available from IBM, and are packaged with OS/2.