Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have another IMAP question...(Dolda I bet you are thrilled...!!) I have successfully setup my IMAP server using SuSE 8.2 Pro with Postfix... My IMAP server is using SSL (SuSE ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

IMAP...

I have another IMAP question...(Dolda I bet you are thrilled...!!)
    I have successfully setup my IMAP server using SuSE 8.2 Pro with Postfix... My IMAP server is using SSL (SuSE compiled the rpm like that..) I can connect and get my Inbox, but I cannot create sub-folders...
    In Outlook ( just using it to test, I promise... ) I get the error " Unable to create the folder. The server responded: "CREATE failed: Can't create mailbox node /home/ehazlett: Permission denied."

I am not that good with IMAP so I am not sure where the mail is stored (/var/spool ??)

Linux Guru
    Wait a minute; Postfix doesn't have an IMAP server as well, does it? Postfix is just a MTA, right? What IMAP server are you really using?

Just Joined!
    UW IMAP

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    Are you running it SUID? Could you run the following on the server?
    Code:
    ls -ld ~
    telnet localhost imap
    (Wait for it to connect)
    1 LOGIN <username> <password>
    &#40;Wait for response&#41;
    Press Ctrl+] before each of the following commands, you will get a "telnet>" prompt.
    Code:
    ! ps -lp `/sbin/pidof imapd`
    ! ls -l /proc/`/sbin/pidof imapd`/
    quit

Just Joined!
    I cannot telnet in... That was one of my complaints to SuSE... They precompiled their IMAP package to not allow PLAIN text login by default. When the IMAP server starts, or I check the status, it shows me LOGINDISABLED , and if I telnet I get this:
    1 NO LOGIN failed

And if I try to telnet to the port 993 (my imap is SSL) I get:
    Connection closed by foreign host.

And yes, I think the imap service is running SUID as root...