Find the answer to your Linux question:
I realise the topic is a little broad, but its quite a broad problem lol I have installed the latest version of Redhat in a dual boot with XP but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Redhat Issues....

I realise the topic is a little broad, but its quite a broad problem lol

I have installed the latest version of Redhat in a dual boot with XP but on a separate drive, the install went fine, but as soon as i try to get to the bootloader Lilo just sits there with no options for what to boot.

I am a complete novice with Linux having just installed it yesterday so that i can learn php and MySQL in an appropriate environment, i also want to see what Linux is all about....

Could anyone help me out with this one, and please bear in mind my newbieness... i need very clear instructions....

My System spec is as follows -

Athlon XP 2200
    512mb DDR2700
    GeForce FX 5200
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP

The Linux drive is a 6gb one, clear of all other stuff, only Linux on it....

Cheers guys

Volt

Linux Guru
    Try reinstalling but using GRUB as the boot loader.

What partition did you put lilo on?

Jason

Linux User
    Did you make a boot disk? If not, slap your wrist! If so, boot with the floppy and then post what's in your /etc/lilo.conf file so we can take a look and make suggestions from there...
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

Just Joined!
    I installed it yesterday evening with GRUB and it did the same thing.

Unfortunatley i dont have a floppy drive so creating a floppy was not an option, i am just about to install it again using Lilo this time i shall nick a floppy from work and make a disk when i install...

Will post later on tonight if it all works lol

P-Dub

Just Joined!