Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, This must have been asked many times before but forgive a noobie I installed mandrake 9 today and I've been trying to get my modem to work since 2 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England, Derbyshire.
    Posts
    30

    Cannot connect to net using speedtouch usb modem.


    Hi,
    This must have been asked many times before but forgive a noobie

    I installed mandrake 9 today and I've been trying to get my modem to work since 2 pm this afternoon. I've found a copy of mgmt.o and logged in as root, then copied it to /usr/share/speedtouch as per instructions on another website.

    It still won't work Any idea's please? I'm a bee's wing off of uninstalling linux

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    Adding the mgmt.o module might require a recompile of the kernel.

    Alternately, check the Mandrake CD for the ALCETEL usb modem package and try installing that one.

    Post back any results.
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    you may be able to load it dynamically with "insmod" or "modprobe", ive forgotten which.


    Jason

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England, Derbyshire.
    Posts
    30
    Just searched all 3 mandrake 9 cd's and I cannot find any modem drivers

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    13

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England, Derbyshire.
    Posts
    30
    Thanks guy's

    But this is way over my head just to get a modem to work

    I'll wait for mandrake 10 and hope they make a Proper modem installer.

    Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    no you dont want to give up im sure its there or if they are somewhere online
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England, Derbyshire.
    Posts
    30
    I've just formatted my mbr and linux partition.
    I'll reinstall it and start from scratch. I just read the UK uses PPPoA and Not PPPoE like the installer suggests

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England, Derbyshire.
    Posts
    30
    OK... Reinstalled ok apart from I cannot use my modem.

    While configuring the networking and modem...

    For Connection to configure I ticked Adsl and Lan (Cos I have both)

    Under way to connect I ticked alcatel adsl.

    Q When it wanted the provider name (ex provider.net) I just typed freeserve[/b] What should have gone there?

    Also I copied mgmt.o to usr/share/speedtouch and also to usr/local/src (according to another tutorial)

    Still no internet for Linux

    I'm such a noob to linux I cannot even find how to configure the modem (In windows you go to the control panel and click modems) And as for recompiling the kernel... Well It's all greek to me. I found a few tutorials bet they all seam to contradict one another

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Your Speedtouch modem is connected directly into your linux PC via the USB port? then your internet connection is ADSL - PPPoA. this means Point to Point Protocol over ATM (atm is the BT network in this case).

    This is supposed to be an easier driver to install:
    http://speedtouch.sourceforge.net/

    please note that this may be DIFFERENT from what you have been trying already. there is documentation available, so follow it through (on the documentation link on the above page). Dont follow any other documentation while doing this.

    Jason

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •