Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have been dabbling in Linux for a little while now, but unfortunately I am still learning the finer points of program installation. What the heck is the difference between ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RPM differences: i386, i586, i686, x86_64, PPC, etc etc

I have been dabbling in Linux for a little while now, but unfortunately I am still learning the finer points of program installation.

What the heck is the difference between i386, i586, i686, x86_64, PPC, etc etc ? Too many times I have been on the hunt for an RPM for Fedora Core 3, which I have running on an Intel P4 1.5ghz. I downloaded Fedora with the i386 architecture, which I assumed was correct. Does an i586 or i686 RPM work on this system? I have deduced that PPC = PowerPC architecture, and that x86_64 is the 64bit systems like Athlon and the G5. I have been struggling with Fedora just trying to get a basic understanding of what I am installing.

Mandrake and SuSE seem to be very well supported by the devel community, something that I don't see to be true with FC3. I am frustrated, so please don't mind the ranting.

TIA
    snake

Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    To give a little more information on that, the X86 processors started with the Intel 8086 processor way back in 1978. They were incrementally improved (80186, 80286) and then Intel released the Intel 386 (i386) in 1980. That was then followed by he 486 (i486), the Pentium (i586), and the Pentium 3/4 (i686) and AMD's Athlon/Duron/T-bird (also i686).

Since all these processors were based on the same architecture (basically they read/wrote 1's and 0's in the same way), and their names all contained "86", the whole family was collectively called "X86". All the X86 processors were 32-bit.