Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I am trying to make a dual boot with windows XP and Arch Linux. I was up all nite last nite and i cant get it to work. I downloades ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4

    Please Help Me With Dual Boot


    I am trying to make a dual boot with windows XP and Arch Linux.
    I was up all nite last nite and i cant get it to work.
    I downloades the .iso file for arch linux and i have made a partition 10 gigs big.
    How do i install linux onto the Partition so it Has a selective start up.
    Also is there a way to install linux without burning the .iso to a CD.
    Thanks guys.
    I hope you can help me soon.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113
    Pretty sure there are ways to install without cd/dvd but it's probably easiest to go the cd/dvd route.

    So right now you have a windows xp partition and another 10gb partition that you want to put linux on?

    Just install linux and make it install on the 10gb partition. That's how I setup my xp/fedora dual boot. Make a root (/) partition, swap, and anything else you want. Fedora installed Grub boot loader.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Ok thanks.
    I am going to try that now.
    I will post back with the results.
    Fingers Crossed.....

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Eeeemmmm...
    I messed it up and now it says that there is an error loading operating system.
    I am pretty sure i installed it properly.
    Is there a way that i can just install ArchLinux without a dual boot.
    I have burner the iso anto a disk and do i have to format the disk.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Near the beginning of the install, you used cfdisk to prepare the hard disk, right?
    To invoke cfdisk, type "cfdisk" at the command line.
    First step will be to delete the partition you are going to put Arch on.
    Then create a swap partition(type 82). Should be 1.5X the amount of your ram.
    Then use the rest of that partition for Arch(type 83)
    Then you will have to "Write" the partition table, then Reboot, and continue with the installation.

    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    But how do i make partitions during the install..
    Do i make a partition before i try to install Arch?
    And does arch work well with a windows dual boot?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    The only distro I know of that won't dual-boot with Windows is Evil-Entity. From what I have read ,it actively seeks out and destroys Windows.

    As for the partitioning, as soon as you boot the cd and you get to a Command line. Type "cfdisk" and follow my earlier instructions.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •