Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Lilo executes when you boot up your computer. Not sure if you can start a boot loader when you're already in an OS....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113

    Lilo executes when you boot up your computer. Not sure if you can start a boot loader when you're already in an OS.
    You dont need a pocket protector or thick glasses to be a geek.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by LBmtb
    Lilo executes when you boot up your computer. Not sure if you can start a boot loader when you're already in an OS.
    The term "lilo" actually stands for two things. One is the lilo (LInux LOader) boot loader. The other is the program lilo, which when run prepares the system for
    the boot loader to run correctly. The symptom one gets after modifying lilo.conf, or initrd (the INITial RamDisk) and then not running lilo is that the boot loader puts "LI" on the screen and then hangs.

    I prefer grub, not least because one needn't run a program to prepare the grub loader to use the newly-minted configuration file. Just change grub.conf and reboot.

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by vsnyder
    Quote Originally Posted by LBmtb
    Lilo executes when you boot up your computer. Not sure if you can start a boot loader when you're already in an OS.
    The term "lilo" actually stands for two things. One is the lilo (LInux LOader) boot loader. The other is the program lilo, which when run prepares the system for
    the boot loader to run correctly. The symptom one gets after modifying lilo.conf, or initrd (the INITial RamDisk) and then not running lilo is that the boot loader puts "LI" on the screen and then hangs.

    I prefer grub, not least because one needn't run a program to prepare the grub loader to use the newly-minted configuration file. Just change grub.conf and reboot.
    So how do I execute the "lilo" file? In what directory is it?

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by vsnyder
    Quote Originally Posted by LBmtb
    Lilo executes when you boot up your computer. Not sure if you can start a boot loader when you're already in an OS.
    The term "lilo" actually stands for two things. One is the lilo (LInux LOader) boot loader. The other is the program lilo, which when run prepares the system for
    the boot loader to run correctly. The symptom one gets after modifying lilo.conf, or initrd (the INITial RamDisk) and then not running lilo is that the boot loader puts "LI" on the screen and then hangs.

    I prefer grub, not least because one needn't run a program to prepare the grub loader to use the newly-minted configuration file. Just change grub.conf and reboot.
    Learn something new everyday. I'm so used to Grub I guess.
    You dont need a pocket protector or thick glasses to be a geek.

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    OK, I got it to work.



    Compaq wants to revert my computer back to factory condition!

    I turned it on, and I wanted to boot into Windows, but Compaq now goes into "System Recovery" mode!

    Is there any way I can bypass this? I know my files are there right now - I don't want them to be deleted!

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108


    Oh, yes!

    I'm a genius.

    I got it to work.

    I now have Debian Linux version 2.2 and Windows dual-bootable on my system.

    Now all I need to do is find a better distro to override my current crappy version. Any suggestions as to what I should do?

    Should I try to upgrade Debian, since an extremely old version is already installed, or should I go for the Red Hat?

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sao Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    17
    Its something very personal. I'd recommend Debian Sarge or Ubuntu. They are great for starters in the Linux world. Debian comes with most common used applications on hand using apt-get, and has a very easy install. Ubuntu is VERY easy to install or run.

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by Comrade
    Okay, my current Lilo.conf file looks like this (without the comments):
    Code:
    lba32
    boot = /dev/hda
    root = /dev/hda3
    install = /boot/boot.b
    map = /boot/map
    delay = 20
    vga = normal
    default = Linux
    image = /vmlinuz
    label = Linux
    read-only
    
    image = /vmlinuz.old
    label = LinuxOLD
    read-only
    optional
    #####
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    #####
    So I gather that the part that I put inside all the pound signs...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    ...should become...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = Windows
    ...correct? And then I should change...
    Code:
    default = Linux
    ...to...
    Code:
    default = Windows
    I think this will work. And to execute Lilo, all I do is type in 'lilo' when I'm in /etc?
    How did you make that with the codes seperated
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Quote Originally Posted by Comrade
    Okay, my current Lilo.conf file looks like this (without the comments):
    Code:
    lba32
    boot = /dev/hda
    root = /dev/hda3
    install = /boot/boot.b
    map = /boot/map
    delay = 20
    vga = normal
    default = Linux
    image = /vmlinuz
    label = Linux
    read-only
    
    image = /vmlinuz.old
    label = LinuxOLD
    read-only
    optional
    #####
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    #####
    So I gather that the part that I put inside all the pound signs...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    ...should become...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = Windows
    ...correct? And then I should change...
    Code:
    default = Linux
    ...to...
    Code:
    default = Windows
    I think this will work. And to execute Lilo, all I do is type in 'lilo' when I'm in /etc?
    How did you make that with th codes seperated
    I used [ code ] [ /code ] tags. I typed them in. I didn't use the buttons.

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    [ code ] Hi[ /code ]
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •