Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
I installed Linux....Debian Linux...version 2.2... Yeah, I know it's an old version, but I wanted to get something running, and it was the only CD I had. So I can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108

    Stuck in Linux!


    I installed Linux....Debian Linux...version 2.2...

    Yeah, I know it's an old version, but I wanted to get something running, and it was the only CD I had.

    So I can access vi, emacs, Python, Perl, and all that other jazz.

    I wanted to get back to Windows, but I couldn't! I made the emergency boot disks from PartitionMagic 8.0, but that's it. How do I get back to Windows!?

    I know the files are there, I just can't boot into Windows.

    I'm currently on a different computer - that one is too screwed up to use (Debian 2.2!?! What was I thinking!)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    What error do you get when you try to boot into Windows?
    Could you post what is in your menu.lst file, that is if you are using GRUB.
    Or your Lilo.conf file, if you are using Lilo.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Yeah, I just found out that Lilo is the key to getting back into Windows.
    I don't get an error - I just can't find out how to get back into Windows.

    So what should I change in my Lilo.conf file if I want to boot into Windows by default (I'm using Lilo)? Could someone post a sample file or something?

    Help is greatly appreciated.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I am not sure if this will work or not. I am not familiar with Lilo or Debian.
    Open up the file with your text editor, assuming you have nano, do this.
    nano -w /boot/lilo/lilo.conf
    Then add this
    title Windows
    root (hd0,0)
    root or rootnoverify(pick one)
    chainloader +1

    Not sure if that will work in Lilo or not, but it will in Grub.
    I hope Lilo works somewhat the same.
    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    To add Windows to your lilo.conf, add

    Code:
    other=/dev/hda1  (or whatever drive it is)
    label=Windows
    Make sure you run lilo before rebooting

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113
    Where would the grub config file be? Mine boots fine but right now I choose "other" to boot into Windows XP.
    You dont need a pocket protector or thick glasses to be a geek.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Open a terminal, type "su" and enter your root password.
    Then type "cd /boot/grub" ENTER
    Then "ls" and look for either a grub.conf ormenu.lst
    That is what you will edit.
    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Open a terminal, type "su" and enter your root password.
    Then type "cd /boot/grub" ENTER
    Then "ls" and look for either a grub.conf ormenu.lst
    That is what you will edit.
    Hope this helps.
    Worked like a charm. Thanks! (it was grub.conf btw)
    You dont need a pocket protector or thick glasses to be a geek.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny8909
    To add Windows to your lilo.conf, add

    Code:
    other=/dev/hda1  (or whatever drive it is)
    label=Windows
    Make sure you run lilo before rebooting
    O.K., I'll try that. When I reboot, what do I do to boot into Windows? Is there an option or something?

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Okay, my current Lilo.conf file looks like this (without the comments):
    Code:
    lba32
    boot = /dev/hda
    root = /dev/hda3
    install = /boot/boot.b
    map = /boot/map
    delay = 20
    vga = normal
    default = Linux
    image = /vmlinuz
    label = Linux
    read-only
    
    image = /vmlinuz.old
    label = LinuxOLD
    read-only
    optional
    #####
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    #####
    So I gather that the part that I put inside all the pound signs...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = HURD
    restricted
    alias = 3
    ...should become...
    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = Windows
    ...correct? And then I should change...
    Code:
    default = Linux
    ...to...
    Code:
    default = Windows
    I think this will work. And to execute Lilo, all I do is type in 'lilo' when I'm in /etc?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •