Find the answer to your Linux question:
hie Im a newbie @ using linux & i just got my redhat9 up & running & having a wonderfull time with it , my problem is that i want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Help & Tips on RPM

hie

Im a newbie @ using linux & i just got my redhat9 up & running & having a wonderfull time with it , my problem is that i want to install some other software (linux-compatible) & im having trouble with how to manouver thru RPM when i want to install packages ie those i download from the net . also how do you run non linux programs in linux ie those that were made on a windows platform

Linux Newbie
    For RPM,
    when you are installing a new RPM , use ( as root of course )
    Code:
    # rpm -ivh <full rpm name with extension>
    when you are installing a Newer version of a RPM already present on your system, use
    Code:
    # rpm -Uvh <full rpm name with extension>
    For more details, visit http://www.rpm.org

About your 2nd question, you should use wine , or maybe winex.
    Check out this link : http://www.winehq.com

rpm is probably easiest from the command line prompt (at least that's where I play with it from).

1. Logon as root, or change to super user by su - .
    2. Open a terminal window (if not already open), and make sure that you have a # as the final character of the prompt (proves that you are super user. If you have a $ then do a su - ).
    3. Change directory to where you saved your downloads (probably your home directory / folder. So "cd /home/username" where username is your username).
    4. List the files - "ls *.rpm"