Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux, but happy to have joined the community. I recently installed FC3 on my laptop and everything seems to be working fine. However, I was hoping to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installation of Windows POST Fedora Core 3 Install

I'm new to Linux, but happy to have joined the community. I recently installed FC3 on my laptop and everything seems to be working fine.

However, I was hoping to run a dual system and install Windows XP as well. I had previously wiped my HD from having XP, then 2003 Server, then a failed Linux install, before successfully installing FC3. Therefore my HD was empty to begin with, so I partitioned half of it for Linux and left half un-partinioned.

Ok, now to my question. I can't get my Windows Disk to boot. Grub takes over before the CD loads (even though I have the CD drive listed first in the BIOS). Once Grub is up I have tried to get it to allow me to run a command line code where I could boot from the CD, but to no avail. Also it keeps telling me that I need to load the Kernel before I can run any "boot" commands.

Where should I start?
    What should I do?
    What other information do you need?

Re: Installation of Windows POST Fedora Core 3 Install

Since the BIOS loads first and you say it is set to check the CD drive first then if the CD in that drive is bootable it will not get to GRUB since GRUB is on the HD. Are you positive that 1) the CD drive light's up and stays lit long enough to know that it is 'looking'? 2) Are you positive the Win install CD is not bad?
    registered Linux user #388382

Have you checked here first?

Linux Engineer
    The windows cd will ask you for confirmation, otherwise it will not boot... You have to press enter, when it asks you to, have you done that?
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org