Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hey I am new to playing w/ Linux. I messed up when i set up Mandrake 10. I accidentally told it to go straight to the CLI and to not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31

    prolly already asked


    Hey I am new to playing w/ Linux. I messed up when i set up Mandrake 10. I accidentally told it to go straight to the CLI and to not start the GUI... I can't get it to start the GUI now.. what command do i have to type.. do I have to be root?

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    The command is "startx".
    Tologin to the GUI every time, you will need to edit the /etc/inittab file
    Code:
    nano -w /etc/inittab
    Look for a list of numbers like this 0 =shutdown 1=Single user 6= reboot

    The number you want will be 4 or 5
    Now look for the line
    :3:initdefault or something close to that.
    Change that 3 to a 4 or 5.
    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31
    it is saying:

    -bash: nano: command not found

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31
    and when i type startx it says

    Code:
    [root@localhost root]# startx
    Using authority fire /root/.Xauthority
    Writing authority file /root/.Xauthority
    Using authority fire /root/.Xauthority
    Writing authority file /root/.Xauthority
    execve failed for /etc/X11/X (errno 13)
    xinit:  Server error.
    [root@localhost root]#
    does that mean that I hosed it and need to reinstall?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803

    Re: prolly already asked

    Quote Originally Posted by tunnelrat83
    Hey I am new to playing w/ Linux. I messed up when i set up Mandrake 10. I accidentally told it to go straight to the CLI and to not start the GUI... I can't get it to start the GUI now.. what command do i have to type.. do I have to be root? thanks.
    No you do not have to be root to startx.

    it is saying:-bash: nano: command not found
    Need to be root.

    does that mean that I hosed it and need to reinstall?
    Probably. But then that's a GREAT way to learn linux. I've lost count of all the reinstalls I've done. So why not?
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Did you try "nano -w"?
    If that doesn't work try "vi" "filename"
    To use vi, Hit i to bring you to INSERT mode, make your change. Then ESC to bring you back to COMMAND mode, Then, ZZ to save your work.
    Btw, you will need to be root to edit the file.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31
    oh okay cool... my self and a co worker determined that i hosed it... there was no X server stuff (atleast that is what he said) installed...

    and i think i was loged in as Root when i tried the nano command

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    The nano command does not come with mandriva, and if I remember right not pico (which nano is based on) neither, just vi.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Thank you for the correction jaboua. I just looked at all of the packages on distrowatch's Mandriva page, and nano is not listed. The only editor I saw was vim.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Maybe you've got mcedit? It's pretty easy, user-friendly for being a command-line program and it saves you if you don't know how to use vi..
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •