Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm just building my new PC: Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI (nForce4 sli chipset) motherboard with a 64bit Athlon. I'll be using it mostly for games, multimedia (mostly video conversion/burning) and the web ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lots of questions from complete newbie

I'm just building my new PC: Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI (nForce4 sli chipset) motherboard with a 64bit Athlon. I'll be using it mostly for games, multimedia (mostly video conversion/burning) and the web and the reasons I want to try linux is partly to get away from Windows, get better performance out of my PC, to try something different and I've heard linux is better for security.

I'm thinking of getting Mandrake 10.1 - the free edition or powerpack but am wondering which distro (free is good but not essential) would be best for multimedia??

My main query is one of compatability with the motherboard (I thought I read somewhere that linux dosn't support the chipset) and with Windows XP. Does linux support NTFS? I've got two HDDs so would it be best to put Windows on one and linux on the other or partition a drive and put linux on one partion and windows on the other with the media files on the other HDD? Could linux use the media files from the Windows HDD and visa versa? I've just bought a router (D-link DI-604) for the first time; can I presume it dosn't matter which OS I use with this? last but not least - I've got a K6 400MHz so will want to network the two PCs (via the router I suppose); can I do this running Windows on one and linux on the other?

As you can see I know nothing.

Answers to any of these questions much appreciated.

Linux Engineer
    Any distro is good for multimedia, the things which don't follow you just install later.

Just Joined!
    The later kernels do support NTFS. Yep, it does not matter if its WindowsXP or Linux OS for the router to work.

Just Joined!