Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Originally Posted by eugrus The both GRUB and Lilo could be in MBR or part's.bootsector MBR: Code: /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda Code: /sbin/lilo -b /dev/hda -v Some partition's bootsector: Code: /sbin/grub-install /dev/hdX ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    Quote Originally Posted by eugrus
    The both GRUB and Lilo could be in MBR or part's.bootsector

    MBR:
    Code:
    /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo -b /dev/hda -v
    Some partition's bootsector:
    Code:
    /sbin/grub-install /dev/hdX
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo -b /dev/hdX -v
    You need DOS-MBR for the second one.
    To generate it use
    Code:
    fdisk /mbr
    from DOS.
    This makes no sense whatsoever to me.
    If you install Grub, then install LiLo, LiLo will overwrite Grub.
    If you use fdisk /mbr, the MBR will be replaced with the Windows bootloader, if there was one. I read through that post, and it was confusing to me.
    And while not an expert with Grub, I am pretty knowledgeable.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #12
    Linux User eugrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    If you use fdisk /mbr, the MBR will be replaced with the Windows bootloader, if there was one.
    If you are pretty knowledgeable you should know that there is not only MBR, but also bootsectors of partitions.

    There are two types of MBR's:
    • Loading the OS's loader themselfs
    • Loading the bootsector of the active partition


    Code:
    fdisk /mbr
    will generate the second one.

  3. #13
    Linux User eugrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    391
    If you install Grub, then install LiLo, LiLo will overwrite Grub.
    Of couse it will. What are you trying to prove me? I told nothing about using them together.
    I've just told commands for the both.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    54
    I have installed knoppix and Lilo bootloader on a certain partition.If I delete that partition,will Lilo be gona along with knoppix?(I know it's a stupid question,just making sure so I don't do something equally stupid or even more stupid)

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If you allready have LILO installed with knoppix, I suggest NOT installing any bootloader under the installation, and simply addinga new lilo-entry in the /etc/lilo.conf in your knoppix-system and running "/sbin/lilo" as root. Then, you will re-install lilo from knoppix with a choise which system to boot when you turn on the power.

  6. #16
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    There is only one type of MBR. The Master Boot Record.
    I reread your post, and I saw that I had read it wrong, t just looked like that was what you were advocating(having both Grub and LiLo on the MBR).
    If you use DOS fdisk /mbr, it will not generate anything except what it was designed to generate-a Windows bootloader.
    The different commands you gave for putting it on a different partition will not work.
    Code:
    Some partition's bootsector:
    Code:
    /sbin/grub-install /dev/hdX
    
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo -b /dev/hdX -v
    That will switch the hard drive that it will be installed to.
    According to the Grub documentation
    Code:
    --root-directory=DIR'
         Install GRUB images under the directory DIR instead of the root
         directory. This option is useful when you want to install GRUB
         into a separate partition or a removable disk. Here is an example
         in which you have a separate "boot" partition which is mounted on
         `/boot':
    
              grub-install --root-directory=/boot hd0
    I am hoping i made this clear.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Good stuff!!! These discussions are precisely the reason I keep coming back to the forum. To learn. Heated or not, personal or not they are often well worth being here. Thanks.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  8. #18
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Learning and helping is why we are all here.
    I hope I didn't come off as heated, if I did I apologize.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #19
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Learning and helping is why we are all here.
    I hope I didn't come off as heated, if I did I apologize.
    No, not you....the other one seemed abit rude though. Ah well the 'written' word can be deceptive!
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  10. #20
    Linux User eugrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    If you use DOS fdisk /mbr, it will not generate anything except what it was designed to generate-a Windows bootloader.
    fdisk /mbr will generate MBR loading the bootsector of active partition.

    This could be Windows Loader's bootsector or any else.



    If you will put GRUB's bootsector to the first sector of HDD (MBR) it will work.

    If you will make the first sector of HDD (MBR) clean and just put GRUB's boot sector to the first sector of active partition it will not work.

    If you will do fdisk /mbr and only then put GRUB's boot sector to the first sector of active partition it will work.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •